Databases

The Alabama Virtual Library (AVL) website and databases will be inaccessible Monday, January 30 due to scheduled server maintenance.

All databases are available in every branch of the Birmingham Public Library, unless otherwise noted. A JCLC library card can be used to access many of the databases, however licensing restrictions force us to limit access to certain databases to residents of Birmingham.

Looking for a particular magazine? Try our electronic journals listing.
Database Quick Links:  
 
Subject Applicable Databases
The Alabama Virtual Library provides all students, teachers and residents of the State of Alabama with 24/7 online access to premier library and information resources free of charge. It is primarily a group of online databases that have magazine, journal, and newspaper articles for research.... learn more
Requires a JCLC card.
Full Text Available.
Remote Access Available.
Online learning center with over 750 lessons and 8 classes with a focus on Microsoft Office products, includiing Word, Excel, Powerpoint, and Access. learn more
Publicly Available.
Alabama's Free Live Online Homework Help Service: HomeworkAlabama.org. This service offers free homework help from subject specialists in Math, Science, Social Studies, and English. Grades 4-12 and College Intro. HomeworkAlabama also provides resume writing help and more for adults.... learn more
Requires a JCLC card.
Remote Access Available.
The Khan Academy library of videos covers K-12 math, science topics such as biology, chemistry, and physics, and even reaches into the humanities with playlists on finance and history. Each video is a digestible chunk, approximately 10 minutes long, and especially purposed for viewing on the... learn more
Publicly Available.
Remote Access Available.
Alabama's Free Live Online Homework Help Service: HomeworkAlabama.org. This service offers free homework help from subject specialists in Math, Science, Social Studies, and English. Grades 4-12 and College Intro. HomeworkAlabama also provides resume writing help and more for adults.... learn more
Requires a JCLC card.
Remote Access Available.
  
Page Last Modified: 1/30/2023 2:14 PM