Databases

All databases are available in every branch of the Birmingham Public Library, unless otherwise noted. A JCLC library card can be used to access many of the databases, however licensing restrictions force us to limit access to certain databases to residents of Birmingham.

Looking for a particular magazine? Try our electronic journals listing.
Database Quick Links:  
 
Subject Applicable Databases
The Alabama Virtual Library provides all students, teachers and residents of the State of Alabama with 24/7 online access to premier library and information resources free of charge. It is primarily a group of online databases that have magazine, journal, and newspaper articles for research.... learn more
Requires a JCLC card.
Full Text Available.
Remote Access Available.
Part of the Gale Business Suite: A powerful online resource connects users with a wealth of highly detailed demographic data on more than 24 million U.S. businesses and 206 million consumers—making it ideal for gaining consumer and market insight. • The product's superior reporting capability... learn more
Requires a JCLC card and residence in Birmingham, AL.
Remote Access Available.
Part of the Gale Business Suite: A step-by-step online planning tool for starting, managing and optimizing a business or nonprofit. The program’s intuitive dashboard walks users through five areas of exploration to develop a business plan focused on long-term success. learn more
Requires a JCLC card and residence in Birmingham, AL.
Remote Access Available.
A guide to more than 4,500 angel investment groups, business incubators, venture capital firms, associations, and resources needed to help entrepreneurs start or grow their business. -site learn more
Requires a JCLC card and residence in Birmingham, AL.
Full Text Available.
Remote Access Available.
Learn and improve skills across business, tech, design, and personal interests. Connect to 4,000+ on-demand video courses taught by world-class instructors. Courses cover the freshest and most relevant content on leadership and management, coding, design, marketing, IT operations, data science,... learn more
Requires a JCLC card and residence in Birmingham, AL.
Remote Access Available.
Learn and improve skills across business, tech, design, and personal interests. Connect to 4,000+ on-demand video courses taught by world-class instructors. Courses cover the freshest and most relevant content on leadership and management, coding, design, marketing, IT operations, data science,... learn more
Requires a JCLC card and residence in Birmingham, AL.
Remote Access Available.
The Khan Academy library of videos covers K-12 math, science topics such as biology, chemistry, and physics, and even reaches into the humanities with playlists on finance and history. Each video is a digestible chunk, approximately 10 minutes long, and especially purposed for viewing on the... learn more
Publicly Available.
Remote Access Available.
Financial Ratings Series Online makes sure that you have the information you need to be certain you are working with the best and most financially stable organizations. Using the quick and easy navigation screen, you will get immediate access to the Weiss' Independent and Unbiased Ratings... learn more
Requires a JCLC card and residence in Birmingham, AL.
Remote Access Available.
Financial Ratings Series Online makes sure that you have the information you need to be certain you are working with the best and most financially stable organizations. Using the quick and easy navigation screen, you will get immediate access to the Weiss' Independent and Unbiased Ratings... learn more
Requires a JCLC card and residence in Birmingham, AL.
Remote Access Available.
Stock and mutual fund reports. Portfolio X-Ray feature allows user to create portfolio to see how investments work together. Screener feature allows user to identify stocks or funds meeting their personal criteria. learn more
Requires a JCLC card and residence in Birmingham, AL.
Full Text Available.
Remote Access Available.
Part of the Gale Business Suite: A step-by-step online planning tool for starting, managing and optimizing a business or nonprofit. The program’s intuitive dashboard walks users through five areas of exploration to develop a business plan focused on long-term success. learn more
Requires a JCLC card and residence in Birmingham, AL.
Remote Access Available.
Learn and improve skills across business, tech, design, and personal interests. Connect to 4,000+ on-demand video courses taught by world-class instructors. Courses cover the freshest and most relevant content on leadership and management, coding, design, marketing, IT operations, data science,... learn more
Requires a JCLC card and residence in Birmingham, AL.
Remote Access Available.
Access to all of Value Line's research on Equities, Mutual Funds, Options, Convertibles, and Special Situation stocks, as well as the ETF's. learn more
Requires a JCLC card and residence in Birmingham, AL.
Remote Access Available.
Financial Ratings Series Online makes sure that you have the information you need to be certain you are working with the best and most financially stable organizations. Using the quick and easy navigation screen, you will get immediate access to the Weiss' Independent and Unbiased Ratings... learn more
Requires a JCLC card and residence in Birmingham, AL.
Remote Access Available.
Financial Ratings Series Online makes sure that you have the information you need to be certain you are working with the best and most financially stable organizations. Using the quick and easy navigation screen, you will get immediate access to the Weiss' Independent and Unbiased Ratings... learn more
Requires a JCLC card and residence in Birmingham, AL.
Remote Access Available.
  
Page Last Modified: 10/7/2021 2:36 PM