Databases

All databases are available in every branch of the Birmingham Public Library, unless otherwise noted. A JCLC library card can be used to access many of the databases, however licensing restrictions force us to limit access to certain databases to residents of Birmingham.

Looking for a particular magazine? Try our electronic journals listing.
Database Quick Links:  
 
Subject Applicable Databases
This learning resource shares stories of the struggles for liberty in the lifelong fight for social justice of African American freedom-fighters in the USA, Britain and Ireland in the 19th century. Their histories are told to us through books, letters, photographs and other original documents held... learn more
Publicly Available.
Full Text Available.
Remote Access Available.
The Oxford African American Studies Center provides students, teachers, and scholars with an authoritative and comprehensive source on the African American experience. The site is comprised of five major encyclopedias and content from eighteen additional reference sources from Oxford University... learn more
Requires a JCLC card and residence in Birmingham, AL.
Full Text Available.
Remote Access Available.
African-American History Online covers topics such as affirmative action, Africa, black nationalism, civil rights, emancipation, free blacks, the Harlem Renaissance, migrations, racial violence and hate crimes, religion, slave living conditions, slave liberation strategies, social work and... learn more
Requires a JCLC card.
Full Text Available.
Remote Access Available.
World-class electronic resources are available to the citizens of Alabama from home or their local public library. learn more
Requires a JCLC card.
Full Text Available.
Remote Access Available.
The Alabama Virtual Library provides all students, teachers and residents of the State of Alabama with 24/7 online access to premier library and information resources free of charge. It is primarily a group of online databases that have magazine, journal, and newspaper articles for research.... learn more
Requires a JCLC card.
Full Text Available.
Remote Access Available.
The Birmingham Black Barons, one of the most successful baseball teams in the Negro Leagues, played from the 1920s until the 1950s. The team played their home games at Rickwood Field. This database is a keyword index to articles that appeared in local newspapers including the Birmingham News... learn more
Publicly Available.
Remote Access Available.
The Birmingham Black Radio Museum chronicles and catalogs the history of Black radio in Birmingham from the mid 1930’s through the 1980’s. BBRM creates and makes available an interactive web-based archive for researchers and the public and develops exhibition spaces for the BBRM collection and... learn more
Publicly Available.
Remote Access Available.
The Organizational Records and Personal Papers bring a new perspective to the Black Freedom Struggle via the records of major civil rights organizations and personal papers of leaders and observers of the 20th century Black freedom struggle.The three major civil rights organizations are the... learn more
Requires a JCLC card and residence in Birmingham, AL.
Full Text Available.
Remote Access Available.
The experience and impact of African Americans as recorded by the news media 1704 through today. learn more
Requires a JCLC card and residence in Birmingham, AL.
Full Text Available.
Remote Access Available.
Informative biographical profiles of the important and influential persons of African American and/or black heritage. Covers persons of various nationalities in a wide variety of fields, including architecture, art, business, dance, education, fashion, film, industry, journalism, law, literature,... learn more
Requires a JCLC card and residence in Birmingham, AL.
Full Text Available.
Remote Access Available.
The Organizational Records and Personal Papers bring a new perspective to the Black Freedom Struggle via the records of major civil rights organizations and personal papers of leaders and observers of the 20th century Black freedom struggle.The three major civil rights organizations are the... learn more
Requires a JCLC card and residence in Birmingham, AL.
Full Text Available.
Remote Access Available.
The experience and impact of African Americans as recorded by the news media 1704 through today. learn more
Requires a JCLC card and residence in Birmingham, AL.
Full Text Available.
Remote Access Available.
These are difficult times for everyone. With the recent school closures happening across the country due to COVID-19, we understand things are getting even harder. The NFL, alongside our charitable partners, are making free digital education resources available to teachers, parents, and students to... learn more
Publicly Available.
Full Text Available.
Remote Access Available.
The Oxford African American Studies Center provides students, teachers, and scholars with an authoritative and comprehensive source on the African American experience. The site is comprised of five major encyclopedias and content from eighteen additional reference sources from Oxford University... learn more
Requires a JCLC card and residence in Birmingham, AL.
Full Text Available.
Remote Access Available.
The Organizational Records and Personal Papers bring a new perspective to the Black Freedom Struggle via the records of major civil rights organizations and personal papers of leaders and observers of the 20th century Black freedom struggle.The three major civil rights organizations are the... learn more
Requires a JCLC card and residence in Birmingham, AL.
Full Text Available.
Remote Access Available.
This learning resource shares stories of the struggles for liberty in the lifelong fight for social justice of African American freedom-fighters in the USA, Britain and Ireland in the 19th century. Their histories are told to us through books, letters, photographs and other original documents held... learn more
Publicly Available.
Full Text Available.
Remote Access Available.
  
Page Last Modified: 10/7/2021 2:36 PM