Databases

All databases are available in every branch of the Birmingham Public Library, unless otherwise noted. A JCLC library card can be used to access many of the databases, however licensing restrictions force us to limit access to certain databases to residents of Birmingham.

Looking for a particular magazine? Try our electronic journals listing.
Database Quick Links:  
 
Subject Applicable Databases
Learn how to get your Alabama learner's permit or driver's license. See Alabama DMV manuals and Alabama DMV practice tests for car, motorcycle and commercial driver's license (CDL). Site includes an exam simulator and DMV-related FAQ. learn more
Publicly Available.
Remote Access Available.
The Alabama Virtual Library provides all students, teachers and residents of the State of Alabama with 24/7 online access to premier library and information resources free of charge. It is primarily a group of online databases that have magazine, journal, and newspaper articles for research.... learn more
Requires a JCLC card.
Full Text Available.
Remote Access Available.
ChiltonLibrary provides exclusive photographs, diagnostics designed by instructors, step-by-step repair procedures, Original Equipment Manufacturer (OEM) maintenance schedules, wiring diagrams, recalls and Technical Service Bulletins (TSBs) for automobiles and light trucks in one easy-to-use web... learn more
Requires a JCLC card.
Remote Access Available.
ChiltonLibrary provides exclusive photographs, diagnostics designed by instructors, step-by-step repair procedures, Original Equipment Manufacturer (OEM) maintenance schedules, wiring diagrams, recalls and Technical Service Bulletins (TSBs) for automobiles and light trucks in one easy-to-use web... learn more
Requires a JCLC card.
Remote Access Available.
Learn how to get your Alabama learner's permit or driver's license. See Alabama DMV manuals and Alabama DMV practice tests for car, motorcycle and commercial driver's license (CDL). Site includes an exam simulator and DMV-related FAQ. learn more
Publicly Available.
Remote Access Available.
Enter your vehicle's 17-character Vehicle Identification Number (VIN) in the field above to receive an instant report on its manufacturer, brand, make and model, body style, engine size, assembly plant, and model year. The information is provided by the National Highway Traffic Safetly... learn more
Publicly Available.
Remote Access Available.
  
Page Last Modified: 10/7/2021 2:36 PM