Databases

All databases are available in every branch of the Birmingham Public Library, unless otherwise noted. A JCLC library card can be used to access many of the databases, however licensing restrictions force us to limit access to certain databases to residents of Birmingham.

Looking for a particular magazine? Try our electronic journals listing.
Database Quick Links:  
 
Subject Applicable Databases
The Alabama Virtual Library provides all students, teachers and residents of the State of Alabama with 24/7 online access to premier library and information resources free of charge. It is primarily a group of online databases that have magazine, journal, and newspaper articles for research.... learn more
Requires a JCLC card.
Full Text Available.
Remote Access Available.
Learn words and phrases in several languages. Site includes facts about the languages and the societies that speak them. learn more
Publicly Available.
Remote Access Available.
Learn and improve skills across business, tech, design, and personal interests. Connect to 4,000+ on-demand video courses taught by world-class instructors. Courses cover the freshest and most relevant content on leadership and management, coding, design, marketing, IT operations, data science,... learn more
Requires a JCLC card and residence in Birmingham, AL.
Remote Access Available.
Learn and improve skills across business, tech, design, and personal interests. Connect to 4,000+ on-demand video courses taught by world-class instructors. Courses cover the freshest and most relevant content on leadership and management, coding, design, marketing, IT operations, data science,... learn more
Requires a JCLC card and residence in Birmingham, AL.
Remote Access Available.
Mango is an online language learning system that teaches real conversation skills for practical communication. Through fun and engaging interactive lessons, Mango makes learning a new language fast, easy and incredibly effective. The system is completely web-based and remotely accessible, so you... learn more
Requires a JCLC card and residence in Birmingham, AL.
Remote Access Available.
A digital library consisting of Greek and Roman Materials, Art & Archaeology Artifact Browser, Arabic Materials, Germanic Materials, and 19th-Century American, Renaissance Materials. learn more
Publicly Available.
Full Text Available.
Remote Access Available.
Learn 87 languages with Pronunciator. Each language course has on average 9,600 instructional phrases. Many languages also have live teachers to provide one-to-one instructions. It allows users to learn any language, in virtually any other language. This resource has four types of ESL (American,... learn more
Requires a JCLC card.
Remote Access Available.
Learn and improve skills across business, tech, design, and personal interests. Connect to 4,000+ on-demand video courses taught by world-class instructors. Courses cover the freshest and most relevant content on leadership and management, coding, design, marketing, IT operations, data science,... learn more
Requires a JCLC card and residence in Birmingham, AL.
Remote Access Available.
  
Page Last Modified: 10/7/2021 2:36 PM