Databases

All databases are available in every branch of the Birmingham Public Library, unless otherwise noted. A JCLC library card can be used to access many of the databases, however licensing restrictions force us to limit access to certain databases to residents of Birmingham.

Looking for a particular magazine? Try our electronic journals listing.
Database Quick Links:  
 
Subject Applicable Databases
The Alabama Virtual Library provides all students, teachers and residents of the State of Alabama with 24/7 online access to premier library and information resources free of charge. It is primarily a group of online databases that have magazine, journal, and newspaper articles for research.... learn more
Requires a JCLC card.
Full Text Available.
Remote Access Available.
The experience and impact of African Americans as recorded by the news media 1704 through today. learn more
Requires a JCLC card and residence in Birmingham, AL.
Full Text Available.
Remote Access Available.
The most comprehensive visualization of U.S. Public Data.--site learn more
Publicly Available.
Remote Access Available.
Foundation Maps is a data visualization platform for philanthropy. We partner with a wide variety of foundations and other organizations on custom projects that apply our technology to their particular field or interest, from Foundation Funding for U.S. Democracy, which shows funding for... learn more
Birmingham Public Library (Central) - In Library Use Only.
The experience and impact of African Americans as recorded by the news media 1704 through today. learn more
Requires a JCLC card and residence in Birmingham, AL.
Full Text Available.
Remote Access Available.
ProQuest Statistical Abstract of the United States is summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic conditions of the United States compiled from both government and non-government sources. learn more
Requires a JCLC card and residence in Birmingham, AL.
Remote Access Available.
Directory of U.S. businesses, company leaders, parent companies, and subsidiaries. Includes U.S. healthcare listings, job and internship listings, and White Page listings. learn more
Requires a JCLC card.
Remote Access Available.
QuickFacts includes statistics for all states and counties, and for cities and towns with more than 5,000 people learn more
Publicly Available.
Remote Access Available.
ProQuest Statistical Abstract of the United States is summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic conditions of the United States compiled from both government and non-government sources. learn more
Requires a JCLC card and residence in Birmingham, AL.
Remote Access Available.
ProQuest Statistical Insight provides abstracting, indexing, and full text for publications from hundreds of public domain and licensed sources --site learn more
Requires a JCLC card.
Remote Access Available.
  
Page Last Modified: 10/7/2021 2:36 PM