Databases

All databases are available in every branch of the Birmingham Public Library, unless otherwise noted. A JCLC library card can be used to access many of the databases, however licensing restrictions force us to limit access to certain databases to residents of Birmingham.

Looking for a particular magazine? Try our electronic journals listing.
Database Quick Links:  
 
Subject Applicable Databases
Comics Plus offers readers unlimited access to thousands of digital comics, graphic novels, and manga from popular publishers like ABDO, Andrews McMeel, Archie Comics, BOOM! Studios, Capstone, Dark Horse, Dynamite, Graphic Mundi, Humanoids, IDW, Lerner, Kodansha, TKO Studios, Tokyopop, Valiant, Yen... learn more
Requires a JCLC card and residence in Birmingham, AL.
Full Text Available.
Remote Access Available.
Childrens/Teens Edition: Comics Plus offers readers unlimited access to thousands of digital comics, graphic novels, and manga from popular publishers like ABDO, Andrews McMeel, Archie Comics, BOOM! Studios, Capstone, Dark Horse, Dynamite, Graphic Mundi, Humanoids, IDW, Lerner, Kodansha, TKO... learn more
Requires a JCLC card and residence in Birmingham, AL.
Full Text Available.
Remote Access Available.
Read magazines online. Get access to Atlantic, Better Homes & Gardens, Cosmpolitan, Ebony, Entertainment Weekly, ESPN Magazine, Essence, Field & Stream, Forbes, Good Housekeeping, Health, HGTV Magazine, Motor Trend, O The Oprah Magazine, People, Prevention, Real Simple, Rolling Stone, Slam,... learn more
Requires a JCLC card and residence in Birmingham, AL.
Full Text Available.
Remote Access Available.
Bringing you hundreds of thousands of movies, full music albums, audiobooks and more, hoopla is a revolutionary digital service made possible by your local library. From Hollywood blockbusters to best selling artists and authors – not just the hits, but the niche and hard-to-find as well – you’ll... learn more
Requires a JCLC card and residence in Birmingham, AL.
Full Text Available.
Remote Access Available.
iVOX™ is our app for children based upon our popular VOX™ Books. iVOX delights and engages curious young minds with immersive storytelling technology. ...iVOX is a revolutionary take on read-alongs for children ages 2-10. It is our wildly popular VOX Books experience, integrated and expanded... learn more
Requires a JCLC card and residence in Birmingham, AL.
Full Text Available.
Remote Access Available.
Entertain, educate, and inspire! The Just for Kids Streaming Collection includes fun and informative video and audio titles on topics including music and arts, animals, sports and hobbies, math and science, history, reading, and much more—plus interac-tive educational games. Perfect for... learn more
Requires a JCLC card and residence in Birmingham, AL.
Full Text Available.
Remote Access Available.
Kanopy is a video streaming platform for libraries with one of the largest collections in the world (5x Netflix) - over 30,000 films featuring over 1,000 producers including Criterion Collection, Media Education Foundation, Great Courses, Kino Lorber, etc. Our films are more typically "educative"... learn more
Requires a JCLC card and residence in Birmingham, AL.
Remote Access Available.
  
Page Last Modified: 5/23/2022 12:00 AM