Databases

All databases are available in every branch of the Birmingham Public Library, unless otherwise noted. A JCLC library card can be used to access many of the databases, however licensing restrictions force us to limit access to certain databases to residents of Birmingham.

Looking for a particular magazine? Try our electronic journals listing.
Database Quick Links:  
 
Databases Freely Available to the Public (w/o library card)
A B C D E F G H J K M N O P R S T U V W Y
A
This learning resource shares stories of the struggles for liberty in the lifelong fight for social justice of African American freedom-fighters in the USA, Britain and Ireland in the 19th century. Their histories are told to us through books, letters, photographs and other original documents held... learn more
Publicly Available.
Full Text Available.
Remote Access Available.
AL.com focus on Birmingham learn more
Publicly Available.
Full Text Available.
Remote Access Available.
The Alabama Administrative Code is a compilation of the rules of all state agencies covered by the Alabama Administrative Procedure Act. The Code is compiled by agency generally in alphabetical order by agency name and includes a table of contents for each agency's rules. learn more
Publicly Available.
Full Text Available.
Remote Access Available.
The "WPA Index to Alabama Biography" was a Works Progress Administration project begun in the 1930’s then abandoned when funding for the WPA was curtailed. Although the index was never completed, over 97 titles such as Who's Who in America, other biographical dictionaries, and local histories were... learn more
Publicly Available.
Remote Access Available.
The Alabama Coal Mine Fatalities Database consists of 2188 records compiled by the staff of the Government Documents department using available annual reports of Alabama mine inspectors from 1898 through 1938. learn more
Publicly Available.
Remote Access Available.
Learn how to get your Alabama learner's permit or driver's license. See Alabama DMV manuals and Alabama DMV practice tests for car, motorcycle and commercial driver's license (CDL). Site includes an exam simulator and DMV-related FAQ. learn more
Publicly Available.
Remote Access Available.
The Alabama Episcopal Church Registers database lists confirmations, baptisms, marriages and burials for more than 14,000 people in sixteen Alabama parishes for the period of the 1830s to the 1970s learn more
Publicly Available.
Remote Access Available.
This database includes inventors who lived in Alabama at the time they received their patents from the United States Patent and Trademark Office (USPTO). The Government Documents Department of the Birmingham Public Library has compiled these records and will add to and update them as information... learn more
Publicly Available.
Remote Access Available.
AlabamaMosaic (Alabama's Digitization Project) is a work in progress. A number of collections are available for browsing and searching. More collections will be added in the near future. The purpose of AlabamaMosaic is to make unique historical treasures from Alabama's archives, libraries, museums,... learn more
Publicly Available.
Remote Access Available.
American Memory provides free and open access through the Internet to written and spoken words, sound recordings, still and moving images, prints, maps, and sheet music that document the American experience. It is a digital record of American history and creativity. These materials, from the... learn more
Publicly Available.
Full Text Available.
Remote Access Available.
With over 16 million items in its continually growing collections, the Archives is the world’s largest and most widely used resource dedicated to collecting and preserving the papers and primary records of the visual arts in America. learn more
Publicly Available.
Full Text Available.
Remote Access Available.
The Getty vocabularies are intended to provide terminology and other information about the objects, artists, concepts, and places important to various disciplines that specialize in art, architecture, and material culture. The AAT contains generic terms; it contains no iconographic subjects and no... learn more
Publicly Available.
Remote Access Available.
Publicly Available.
Remote Access Available.
A project of the William M. Scholl Center for American History and Culture at The Newberry Library in Chicago, the Atlas of Historical County Boundaries is a powerful historical research and reference tool in electronic form. The Atlas presents in maps and text complete data about the creation and... learn more
Publicly Available.
Remote Access Available.
B
Learn words and phrases in several languages. Site includes facts about the languages and the societies that speak them. learn more
Publicly Available.
Remote Access Available.
Ben's Guide to U.S. Government for Kids provides learning tools for K-12 students, parents, and teachers. These resources will teach how our government works, the use of the primary source materials of GPO Access, and how one can use GPO Access to carry out their civic responsibilities. And, just... learn more
Publicly Available.
Remote Access Available.
This US Congressional resource provides a searchable database of all members of Congress from 1774 to present. The Biographical Directory of the United States Congress includes the position, party, year, and state of each member of congress. learn more
Publicly Available.
Remote Access Available.
AL.com focus on Birmingham learn more
Publicly Available.
Full Text Available.
Remote Access Available.
School Yearbooks is a collection of yearbooks from the Birmingham and Jefferson County area. learn more
Publicly Available.
Full Text Available.
Remote Access Available.
The Birmingham Black Barons, one of the most successful baseball teams in the Negro Leagues, played from the 1920s until the 1950s. The team played their home games at Rickwood Field. This database is a keyword index to articles that appeared in local newspapers including the Birmingham News... learn more
Publicly Available.
Remote Access Available.
The Birmingham Black Radio Museum chronicles and catalogs the history of Black radio in Birmingham from the mid 1930’s through the 1980’s. BBRM creates and makes available an interactive web-based archive for researchers and the public and develops exhibition spaces for the BBRM collection and... learn more
Publicly Available.
Remote Access Available.
The Cartography Collection contains regional and historical maps and atlases from the 16th through the 20th centuries. While the emphasis of the collection is on the area of the globe occupied by Alabama, the historic maps retrace the development of the region over centuries and illustrate the... learn more
Publicly Available.
Remote Access Available.
The photograph collection depicts some of Birmingham’s prominent historic landmarks, pop culture palaces, businesses, churches, government buildings, gathering spaces, and people. While some of these structures have survived to the present, others are only memories. These photos form a composite... learn more
Publicly Available.
Remote Access Available.
C
The Cartography Collection contains regional and historical maps and atlases from the 16th through the 20th centuries. While the emphasis of the collection is on the area of the globe occupied by Alabama, the historic maps retrace the development of the region over centuries and illustrate the... learn more
Publicly Available.
Remote Access Available.
Search America's historic newspapers pages from 1836-1922 or use the U.S. Newspaper Directory to find information about American newspapers published between 1690-present. There are currently 664 historical newspapers available to browse and view in this site and over 140,000 newspapers listed in... learn more
Publicly Available.
Full Text Available.
Remote Access Available.
The World Factbook provides information on the history, people, government, economy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues for 266 world entities. Our Reference tab includes: maps of the major world regions, as well as Flags of the World, a Physical Map of... learn more
Publicly Available.
Full Text Available.
Remote Access Available.
The Civil War Soldiers and Sailors System is a computerized database containing very basic facts about servicemen who served on both sides during the Civil War. The initial focus of the CWSS is the Names Index Project, a project to enter names and other basic information from 6.3 million soldier... learn more
Publicly Available.
Remote Access Available.
Learn Web and computer programming fundamentals and languages through a series of training tracks. Topics include web fundamentals, PHP, jQuery, JavaScript, Python and Ruby. learn more
Publicly Available.
Remote Access Available.
The Code of Federal Regulations (CFR) is the codification of the general and permanent rules published in the Federal Register by the executive departments and agencies of the Federal Government. It is divided into 50 titles that represent broad areas subject to Federal regulation. learn more
Publicly Available.
Full Text Available.
Remote Access Available.
Federal Digital System (FDsys) provides free online access to official publications from all three branches of the Federal Government. Through FDsys, you are able to: Search for documents and publications; Browse for documents and publications; Access metadata about documents and publications;... learn more
Publicly Available.
Full Text Available.
Remote Access Available.
Coursera is an education company that partners with the top universities and organizations in the world to offer courses online for anyone to take, for free. Our technology enables our partners to teach millions of students rather than hundreds. learn more
Publicly Available.
Remote Access Available.
D
The most comprehensive visualization of U.S. Public Data.--site learn more
Publicly Available.
Remote Access Available.
Use a computer to do almost anything! If you are new to computers, haven't used them for a while, are a little unsure and uncomfortable, or just need a bit of a refresher, we have the tools to help you tackle technology at your own pace and gain the confidence you need to succeed. --site learn more
Publicly Available.
Remote Access Available.
The Directory of Open Access Books is open to all publishers who publish academic, peer reviewed books with an Open Access license (free to download and share) and meet academic standards. The directory contains works from 33 publishers and is growing. learn more
Publicly Available.
Full Text Available.
Remote Access Available.
The aim of the Directory of Open Access Journals is to increase the visibility and ease of use of open access scientific and scholarly journals thereby promoting their increased usage and impact. The Directory aims to be comprehensive and cover all open access scientific and scholarly journals... learn more
Publicly Available.
Full Text Available.
Remote Access Available.
Learn how to get your Alabama learner's permit or driver's license. See Alabama DMV manuals and Alabama DMV practice tests for car, motorcycle and commercial driver's license (CDL). Site includes an exam simulator and DMV-related FAQ. learn more
Publicly Available.
Remote Access Available.
E
Founded by Harvard University and MIT in 2012, edX is an online learning destination and MOOC provider, offering high-quality courses from the world’s best universities and institutions to learners everywhere.-site Free courses are available. learn more
Publicly Available.
Remote Access Available.
Browse and search for journal and magazine titles that are available in the BPL collection of electronic databases. Use this tool to identify which database has the desired magazine and the coverage dates that are included in the database. learn more
Publicly Available.
Remote Access Available.
The Encyclopedia of Alabama is a free, online reference resource on Alabama’s history, culture, geography, and natural environment. It was developed through a partnership of the Alabama Humanities Foundation and Auburn University. learn more
Publicly Available.
Remote Access Available.
The Encyclopedia of Life brings together information about all life on earth - text, images, video, sounds, maps, classifications and more - all freely available on-line. But EOL is much more than 1.9 million taxon pages. Explore EOL to find information for a paper, poster or class project, make... learn more
Publicly Available.
Remote Access Available.
Includes a prescription drug reference in free version. learn more
Publicly Available.
Remote Access Available.
F
Search for your ancestors in free family history, family tree, and genealogy records and resources from around the world. learn more
Publicly Available.
Remote Access Available.
Federal Digital System (FDsys) provides free online access to official publications from all three branches of the Federal Government. Through FDsys, you are able to: Search for documents and publications; Browse for documents and publications; Access metadata about documents and publications;... learn more
Publicly Available.
Full Text Available.
Remote Access Available.
G
Online learning center with over 750 lessons and 8 classes with a focus on Microsoft Office products, includiing Word, Excel, Powerpoint, and Access. learn more
Publicly Available.
The Getty vocabularies are intended to provide terminology and other information about the objects, artists, concepts, and places important to various disciplines that specialize in art, architecture and material culture. The TGN includes names and associated information about places. Places in TGN... learn more
Publicly Available.
Remote Access Available.
H
Harvard University online learning portal. Free courses are available. learn more
Publicly Available.
Remote Access Available.
Health InfoNet of Alabama is a free, award-winning consumer health information service of the Alabama public and medical libraries*. It began in 1999 as a local service to Jefferson County residents, expanding to Shelby County in 2002 and the whole state in 2004. This website is designed as a... learn more
Publicly Available.
Remote Access Available.
Search America's historic newspapers pages from 1836-1922 or use the U.S. Newspaper Directory to find information about American newspapers published between 1690-present. There are currently 664 historical newspapers available to browse and view in this site and over 140,000 newspapers listed in... learn more
Publicly Available.
Full Text Available.
Remote Access Available.
J
Jefferson County Probate Court, Loose Records is an Index for Boxes 1-637 (Birmingham) and Bessemer - 1916-1936. (Note: Boxes 1-637 refers to the Woodruff Boxes (Drawers) the cases were originally filed as -- not the archival boxes they are in now.) learn more
Publicly Available.
Remote Access Available.
K
Federal Digital System (FDsys) provides free online access to official publications from all three branches of the Federal Government. Through FDsys, you are able to: Search for documents and publications; Browse for documents and publications; Access metadata about documents and publications;... learn more
Publicly Available.
Full Text Available.
Remote Access Available.
The Khan Academy library of videos covers K-12 math, science topics such as biology, chemistry, and physics, and even reaches into the humanities with playlists on finance and history. Each video is a digestible chunk, approximately 10 minutes long, and especially purposed for viewing on the... learn more
Publicly Available.
Remote Access Available.
M
The Cartography Collection contains regional and historical maps and atlases from the 16th through the 20th centuries. While the emphasis of the collection is on the area of the globe occupied by Alabama, the historic maps retrace the development of the region over centuries and illustrate the... learn more
Publicly Available.
Remote Access Available.
MedlinePlus will direct you to information to help answer health questions. MedlinePlus brings together authoritative information from NLM, the National Institutes of Health (NIH), and other government agencies and health-related organizations. Preformulated MEDLINE searches are included in... learn more
Publicly Available.
Remote Access Available.
First published in 1899 as a small reference book for physicians and pharmacists, the Manual grew in size and scope to become one of the most widely used comprehensive medical resources for professionals and consumers. As the Manual evolved, it continually expanded the reach and depth of its... learn more
Publicly Available.
Full Text Available.
Remote Access Available.
English Language Dictionary learn more
Publicly Available.
Remote Access Available.
Whether you are new to computing or have some experience, Digital Literacy will help you develop a fundamental understanding of computers. The courses help you learn the essential skills to begin computing with confidence, be more productive at home and at work, stay safe online, use technology to... learn more
Publicly Available.
Remote Access Available.
MIT OpenCourseWare (OCW) is a web-based publication of virtually all MIT course content. OCW is open and available to the world and is a permanent MIT activity. --site learn more
Publicly Available.
Remote Access Available.
Birmingham's guide to local diabetes resources. The website is sponsored and developed by the American Academy of Family Physicians Foundation for the Cities for Life grant, as well as the University of Alabama and the University of Alabama at Birmingham. learn more
Publicly Available.
Remote Access Available.
N
These are difficult times for everyone. With the recent school closures happening across the country due to COVID-19, we understand things are getting even harder. The NFL, alongside our charitable partners, are making free digital education resources available to teachers, parents, and students to... learn more
Publicly Available.
Full Text Available.
Remote Access Available.
O
In 1871 the City of Birmingham purchased from the Elyton Land Company 21.5 acres of land for a city cemetery (later named Oak Hill). The deed was issued December 29, 1873. As the first city cemetery, Oak Hill became the resting place for virtually all of the Birmingham pioneers. Although the... learn more
Publicly Available.
Remote Access Available.
The Obituary Index : Birmingham Area Newspapers database is an ongoing project of the Government Documents Department of the Birmingham Public Library. Obituaries from four Birmingham area newspapers are included: the Birmingham News, the Birmingham World, the Methodist Christian Advocate, and the... learn more
Publicly Available.
Remote Access Available.
For hundreds of different types of jobs—such as teacher, lawyer, and nurse—the Occupational Outlook Handbook tells you: the training and education needed; earnings; expected job prospects; what workers do on the job; working conditions. In addition, the Handbook gives you job search tips, links to... learn more
Publicly Available.
Full Text Available.
Remote Access Available.
Learn Web and computer programming fundamentals and languages through a series of training tracks. Topics include web fundamentals, PHP, jQuery, JavaScript, Python and Ruby. learn more
Publicly Available.
Remote Access Available.
Coursera is an education company that partners with the top universities and organizations in the world to offer courses online for anyone to take, for free. Our technology enables our partners to teach millions of students rather than hundreds. learn more
Publicly Available.
Remote Access Available.
Founded by Harvard University and MIT in 2012, edX is an online learning destination and MOOC provider, offering high-quality courses from the world’s best universities and institutions to learners everywhere.-site Free courses are available. learn more
Publicly Available.
Remote Access Available.
Online learning center with over 750 lessons and 8 classes with a focus on Microsoft Office products, includiing Word, Excel, Powerpoint, and Access. learn more
Publicly Available.
The Khan Academy library of videos covers K-12 math, science topics such as biology, chemistry, and physics, and even reaches into the humanities with playlists on finance and history. Each video is a digestible chunk, approximately 10 minutes long, and especially purposed for viewing on the... learn more
Publicly Available.
Remote Access Available.
Online learning with a focus on technology. Free courses are available. learn more
Publicly Available.
Remote Access Available.
Open Yale Courses provides free and open access to a selection of introductory courses taught by distinguished teachers and scholars at Yale University. The aim of the project is to expand access to educational materials for all who wish to learn. --site learn more
Publicly Available.
Remote Access Available.
P
Prescription drug information, including FDA communications. learn more
Publicly Available.
Full Text Available.
Remote Access Available.
A digital library consisting of Greek and Roman Materials, Art & Archaeology Artifact Browser, Arabic Materials, Germanic Materials, and 19th-Century American, Renaissance Materials. learn more
Publicly Available.
Full Text Available.
Remote Access Available.
The photograph collection depicts some of Birmingham’s prominent historic landmarks, pop culture palaces, businesses, churches, government buildings, gathering spaces, and people. While some of these structures have survived to the present, others are only memories. These photos form a composite... learn more
Publicly Available.
Remote Access Available.
Prescription drug information, including FDA communications. learn more
Publicly Available.
Full Text Available.
Remote Access Available.
PubMed comprises more than 20 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites (from site). learn more
Publicly Available.
Remote Access Available.
R
Red Mountain Cemetery, sometimes called Southside Cemetery, was used by the City of Birmingham from 1888 to 1906 as a place to bury the indigent dead. The cemetery contains 4,711 burials and was located south of the city on the site that is now Lane Park and the Birmingham Zoo. The graves were not... learn more
Publicly Available.
Remote Access Available.
S
The Sanborn Fire Insurance Maps Online Checklist provides a searchable database of the fire insurance maps published by the Sanborn Map Company housed in the collections of the Geography and Map Division of the Library of Congress. The online checklist is based upon the Library's 1981 publication... learn more
Publicly Available.
Remote Access Available.
Learn how to touch type with tutorials, tests, games and more. learn more
Publicly Available.
Remote Access Available.
Shadow Lawn was originally deeded in 1889 as a "colored" burial ground and is the largest African American cemetery in Birmingham. The database for the Shadow Lawn Memorial Gardens Cemetery Interments is a work in progress and does not currently include the name of every person buried at there.... learn more
Publicly Available.
Remote Access Available.
Get information about your social security benefits, apply for benefits and more. Sign In or Create a my Social Security account. A my Social Security account allows users to: get Social Security statements change an address change or start direct deposit print a benefit verification... learn more
Publicly Available.
Remote Access Available.
Sparticl is a new web and mobile service for teens, a collection of the very best the web has to offer in science, technology, engineering, and math or STEM. Sparticl includes answers to science questions, images, videos, games, and hands-on activities, all curated by a team of experts. --site learn more
Publicly Available.
Full Text Available.
Remote Access Available.
QuickFacts includes statistics for all states and counties, and for cities and towns with more than 5,000 people learn more
Publicly Available.
Remote Access Available.
This learning resource shares stories of the struggles for liberty in the lifelong fight for social justice of African American freedom-fighters in the USA, Britain and Ireland in the 19th century. Their histories are told to us through books, letters, photographs and other original documents held... learn more
Publicly Available.
Full Text Available.
Remote Access Available.
T
THOMAS, a service of the Library of Congress, provides information on the activities of the U.S. Congress. The scope of offerings THOMAS currently includes such features and content as: Bills, Resolutions; Activity in Congress; Congressional Record; Schedules, Calendars; Committee Information;... learn more
Publicly Available.
Full Text Available.
Remote Access Available.
Tuition Funding Sources is a private website designed to help students find scholarships, college and career information. TFS offers students the largest scholarship database in the world with over $41 Billion in scholarship awards along with a career personality test and detailed college and... learn more
Publicly Available.
Remote Access Available.
Learn how to touch type with tutorials, tests, games and more. learn more
Publicly Available.
Remote Access Available.
U
Welcome to USA Learns, a free website for adults to learn English and prepare for U.S. citizenship. Here you can practice English speaking, reading, writing, listening, grammar, vocabulary and more. Now, you can even prepare for your naturalization interview to become a U.S. citizen! --site learn more
Publicly Available.
Remote Access Available.
Online learning with a focus on technology. Free courses are available. learn more
Publicly Available.
Remote Access Available.
The Getty vocabularies are intended to provide terminology and other information about the objects, artists, concepts, and places important to various disciplines that specialize in art, architecture and material culture. The ULAN includes proper names and associated information about artists.... learn more
Publicly Available.
Remote Access Available.
Welcome to USA Learns, a free website for adults to learn English and prepare for U.S. citizenship. Here you can practice English speaking, reading, writing, listening, grammar, vocabulary and more. Now, you can even prepare for your naturalization interview to become a U.S. citizen! --site learn more
Publicly Available.
Remote Access Available.
V
Enter your vehicle's 17-character Vehicle Identification Number (VIN) in the field above to receive an instant report on its manufacturer, brand, make and model, body style, engine size, assembly plant, and model year. The information is provided by the National Highway Traffic Safetly... learn more
Publicly Available.
Remote Access Available.
W
Learn web development tools by experimetation. learn more
Publicly Available.
The World Factbook provides information on the history, people, government, economy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues for 266 world entities. Our Reference tab includes: maps of the major world regions, as well as Flags of the World, a Physical Map of... learn more
Publicly Available.
Full Text Available.
Remote Access Available.
Worldwide library catalog identifies libraries that own items searched. Comprehensive reference service available only though libraries. Databases, links to the World Wide Web, over 10 million online full-text articles, full-image articles from over 4,000 electronic journals. Wide range of subject... learn more
Publicly Available.
Remote Access Available.
The "WPA Index to Alabama Biography" was a Works Progress Administration project begun in the 1930’s then abandoned when funding for the WPA was curtailed. Although the index was never completed, over 97 titles such as Who's Who in America, other biographical dictionaries, and local histories were... learn more
Publicly Available.
Remote Access Available.
Y
School Yearbooks is a collection of yearbooks from the Birmingham and Jefferson County area. learn more
Publicly Available.
Full Text Available.
Remote Access Available.
  
Page Last Modified: 10/7/2021 2:36 PM